In 1928, Louis Voorheis purchased land in the Smoky Mountains
The site was within the boundary for the proposed national park
But he and his wife gifted the property to the park for a lifetime lease
He called the area Twin Creeks Orchard
And constructed buildings with unique stone garden features
Many of the old structures are gone now ...
But the old spring house is the most iconic. It's known as the House of Fairies
Find out more hidden gems and how to locate the fairy house!